MEF unveils industry certification program for Link OAM

Date: Tue, 05/26/2009 - 17:15

MEF 21 is the first certification component of the next generation UNI

MEF unveils industry certification program for Link OAM

The MEF has announced details of the MEF 21 certification program that provides telecom equipment vendors independent and globally recognized validation for their Link Operations Administration Operation and Maintenance (OAM) implementations and provides a solid foundation for multi-vendor interoperability.
Link OAM defines automated OAM mechanisms to replace existing manual monitoring and management functions, so equipment certified to MEF 21 will significantly reduce the provider’s OPEX by eliminating costly truck rolls, on-site diagnostics and troubleshooting. Further gains can be expected in first mile access, mobile backhaul and ENNI link availability as well as MTTR (Mean Time To Repair). Applications are being accepted now from vendors to participate in the MEF 21 pilot program that is scheduled to begin in June 2009.
The MEF 21 specification, an Abstract Test Suite for Link OAM is the first in a planned series of major UNI Type 2 test specifications to be officially ratified by the MEF.  The other two in the series are ELMI, recently ratified as MEF 24, and the upcoming test specification focused on Service OAM.
“MEF 21 Certification will set the industry benchmark for Link OAM compliance” according to Nan Chen, president of the MEF. “Service providers are increasingly opting for Link OAM, and this will reassure them that certified implementations fully comply with specifications. The explosive growth of Carrier Ethernet services is outpacing the providers’ ability to manage manual links, and MEF 21 addresses their requirement for an Ethernet equivalent to SONET/SDH and ATM OAM capabilities – so this is a very timely addition to our MEF Certification program.”
Link OAM offers a set of fully automated mechanisms defining the next generation UNI on the customer premises that links the Carrier Ethernet service to the internal network. The definitions are based on IEEE spec 802.3-2005 Clause 57. Extensive manual settings by a provider’s field engineer are replaced by automatic processes for retrieving and acting on status and configuration data about the network, monitoring capabilities, link fault detection and response, the request and response protocols for peer to peer communication, control of remote loopbacks and the exchange of vendor specific information.
Vendors wishing to be among the first to take advantage of this globally recognized certification can sign up for the program’s pilot phase before 5 June 2009. Approximately 3 months has been allowed for pilot testing, and the first group of vendor certifications is expected to be announced in September of this year.

Image: Light Reading’s Ethernet Expo: Europe 2009 in London 


valorar este articulo:

Post new comment

Datos Comentario
The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
Datos Comentario
Datos Comentario